Unified Field Theory of Education

info-theoryOver Christmas Vacation (Winter Break to my PC friends), I read a thriller that put forth the idea that Einstein actually had succeeded in developing the necessary equations to explain the physical universe in its entirety, his Unified Field Theory.

The novel was written by a well-informed science historian with a knack for suspense. If the equations fell into the “wrong hands,” the result could be a weapon more devastating and sinister than the A/H bomb.

Long story short, I began to think about how unbearably complex the field of education has become. I wondered if there are, perhaps, a few simple principles we could discuss, validate, and practice, that would forever serve every student well. How powerful would that be?

Think about it…a Unified Field Theory of Education.

What would be some of the characteristics of such a theory?

I’ll suggest one, then I’d like to see some ideas from the rest of you. The simpler, the better. (No need for “research validation.” Follow your intuition.)

Here goes: “Every student is a genius, and our job is to help them discover that fact.”

Join me on the adventure. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Unified Field Theory of Education

  1. The only learning which significantly influences behavior is self-discovered, self-appropriated learning. (Thanks to Carl Rogers)

  2. I’ve had this post starred in my Google Reader queue for awhile. I like the idea—but haven’t had the headspace to give it the consideration it deserves. I don’t know that I will for awhile, but I appreciate what you’ve put out here.

    This week, I was e-mailing back and forth with an instructional coach about a conversation I will be having with his teachers in the coming week. The conversation is focused on grading. Here’s part of what he wrote: “I feel like standards-based grading may be the piece of the puzzle that I have been looking for to reinforce what I have been doing so far with encouraging formative assessments strategies, advocating for collaborative communities, having PLC’s, doing classroom observations, and having the departments choose instructional goals from the observations to focus on for the year.”

    While not fully getting at your unified field theory, what I can say I am noticing is that these conversations about grading really are the last piece of a big puzzle (the field theory). Teachers have been focusing on a variety of components, but now it is time to put them together in context. Somehow, grading is a way to provide that. Hmmmm…

    Hey SG… Very much appreciate the comment, and I’ll look forward to your thinking on the Unified Theory.

    I’ve called grading reform the lynch pin for connecting classroom assessment to achievement, and I’ve heard you refer to grading as “the last frontier in education reform.” I think your instructional coach is in good company. 😉 –Hugh

Leave a Reply

