Oregon Approves Exit Exams for Seniors

Actually, I’m not a moody person, but yesterday I got the news that Oregon joined the parade of states with intellectually deprived educational leadership (i.e., politicians at the helm) that will require some form of exit exam for students to qualify for a high school diploma.

That is so wrong for so many students, for so many reasons, that I’m going to have to vent now and put forth my arguments to the contrary a little later.

Stay with me. It’s late. I’m tired. I’m [disappointed], and I’m bewildered that people in high places can be so stupid.

As an undergraduate sociology major, I used to be amused that statistics would so often validate common sense. But today I’m appalled that common sense cannot always be found in education statistics.

7 thoughts on “Oregon Approves Exit Exams for Seniors

  1. Tennessee does that as well and it annoys the heck out of me. So what does that do? Why it forces the teacher to “teach to the test” ARGH!!!

    Good to see ya, Eric! You hit the nail on the head. And a few other thoughts trouble me (see post above this one). –Hugh

  2. I think part of the issue is that so many of the decision makers are so FAR from the classroom and actual teaching that they like “easy” solutions and answers. (what they consider solutions anyway!)

    It’s scary when you think of a national population of administrators, knowing that only a little over 2% are top-notch, and about 12-13% could be considered “good.” Where are all the other ones? There are probably some near you (and me)! ::shudder::

    Of course, the same curve applies to teachers and every other occupation I can think of… –Hugh

Leave a Reply

