Meme: Passion Quilt

Frumteacher tagged me for this meme, and the theme appeals to me.

THE RULES:

Post a picture or make/take/create your own that captures what YOU are most passionate for kids to learn about.

Give your picture a short title.

Title your blog post “Meme: Passion Quilt.”

Link back to this blog entry.

Include links to 5 (or more) folks in your professional learning network.


The Parthenon

Sunrise on The Parthenon symbolizes daily new beginnings of enlightened self-determination. The image evokes renewed thought of the history and legacy of the most humane aspects of Western Civilization: liberty, equality, fraternity.

I’d love to see what The Science Goddess, Jose, Lisa, Miss Profe, Eric, Ruben, BK Teacher, Dr. Pezz, and Edward Carson will offer.

11 thoughts on “Meme: Passion Quilt

  1. HAHA I just did this one. Tamara and Ilana both tagged me for this, but thanks for thinking of me on this nonetheless.

    Cool! I’ll look forward to the viewing and reading. 🙂 — Hugh

  2. Beautiful picture and musing! It makes me feel proud of our western civilization!

    Thanks, FT.

    BTW, I always learn from your posts. You’re an extraordinary teacher! 🙂 — Hugh

  3. PS. Found another creepy mirror blog: http://family.blogofinder.com/2008/03/07/dealing-with-terror/

    I checked it out. I’m seeing a pattern…the blog thief picks a general topic and gives the blog a title that reflects that topic. The thief floods the site with Google Ads. Then the thief runs around the internet stealing anything that remotely resembles the theme of their fake, money-grubbing blog (those clicks on Google Ads). The stolen content fools the search engines and the thief’s site comes up on early search pages when people are looking for information that supposedly resides on the thief bloggers site. But all the searcher gets is a lot of disjointed, irrelevant information…and Google Ads. So they click the ads and the jerk makes money.

    Just another darned scam. Grrrr. –Hugh

  4. Hey, Repairman,

    My response to the Passion Quilt meme is up!
    Come by and take a look!

    Loyalty is one of my top values. That quote always chokes me up. Well spoken, Miss Profe. 🙂 –Hugh

  5. BTW: I really like your response to the Passion Quilt Meme.:) We need more historical perspective and enlightened self-determination in our classrooms. Perhaps there is something after all to the Great Books curriculum?

    Thanks! The Great Books sure never hurt anyone! I was raised with them. –Hugh

  6. Man, Hugh, this was hard for me. It was really difficult narrowing down what I was MOST passionate about. . . that’s what took the longest. Thanks for the challenge!

    That’s exactly why it was appealing to me. Thanks for contributing! 🙂 — Hugh

  7. Hugh, I finally finished the meme post. It’s up. Thanks for including me. I had fun thinking about it and it nice and fun to think about what I want to instill in my future students. Sometimes as a current student, when all is so difficult, I lose sight of the goal. Thanks!

    I just stopped over and read it. This quilt is getting to be a resource! I very much enjoyed your story and the theme of compassion and good example. –Hugh

  8. How’d you feel about all the quilts you visited?

    I appreciated all the great thoughts and I’m recommending the idea to all my teacher friends. Left comments on quilters’ blogs, also. –Hugh

Leave a Reply

