Blogger Stalkers?


Let me say first that although this blog appears anonymous, it is not. Scattered throughout it are many clues to the identity of Repairman. Outing me would not take a work of genius, nor would I mind, although the time could be better used, I’m sure.

My blogging goals are focused on the improvement of public education, and any criticisms I have made have been in the spirit of helping another pilgrim avoid a screw up under my scrutiny. I have never tried to strengthen an argument by reducing other people (ad hominem). Generally, folks who make jackasses out of themselves don’t need my help to accomplish the task.

A short while ago, one of my posts drew a boorish comment from a local person who is apparently angry about the perceived inequities between boys baseball and girls softball in our district. Following good advice from a more experience blogger, I ignored the comment, although I did save a copy.

I then reflected on the purpose of the blog, which includes highlighting various education issues and engaging in discussions about them. I decided I did not want to be a lighting rod or a forum for local issues, and I would concentrate on discussing examples of positive leadership, so I removed the posts that referenced those local issues and two others that referenced leadership flubs elsewhere.

Since that time, I have been mindful of two things:

First, the local person (actually persons, because there’s more than one local IP Address showing on sitemeter) persisted in looking only at, then looking for (after removal) my posts on the local issue, “Tossing the Baby,” and “Tossing the Baby 2.” And today, in one of several exploratory sessions, he/she/they spent 28 minutes and 57 seconds on my site, finally exiting to the Google page that caches my entire blog. This person(s) has/have been at this since “Tossing the Baby” first appeared on RepairKit.

Second, I will continue to speak about all issues that are important to me whether they be local, regional, national, or world-wide. I will continue the practice of making only those observations that I would be willing to make in person, but I don’t guarantee smiles.

My local readers, if they want to talk more, can find me in the phone book. (The district won’t give out my phone number.) I’m listed and have been for 44 years.

I have reprised the deleted posts, with the most recent directly below this one. In “Tossing the Baby” I have also included, as forensic history only, the negative comment that plainly indicates that the writer, in his or her anger, chose to ignore most of what I said in the post. (I publish disagreements, not ad hominem rants. Also, I no longer accept anonymous comments. If anyone has something worth saying, they can register with Blogger or one of the other blogging services. It’s all free.)

For those of you in the edusphere who have yet to add sitemeter or some similar tracking device to your blog, I recommend that you do not wait. I have a complete record of my local visitors’ comings and goings and what they were curious about. They only live two miles away.

You’d think they could pick up the phone.

14 thoughts on “Blogger Stalkers?

  1. I don’t have a blogger stalker but I do understand what you mean. I tread carefully when I’m writing my entries because of possible repercussions at work. There’s always the possibility that some person might find my words objectionable and relay them to a higher authority. Still I try not to censor myself to the point of being artificial. I want to remain true to myself. It’s a challenge to find a balance between honesty and diplomacy.

  2. Thanks for the good vibes, Lizzie and DrPezz. I’ll be here for awhile unless I get hit by lightning or struck by a bus. 😉

    The best thing that Anon. Sportsfan could do is get into a conversation with the supe. My role is to represent the patrons of the school district and keep my personal feelings out of it, regardless of whether a knuckleheaded “taxpayer” offends me or not.

    Thanks again!

  3. mr. repair man.. i think your blog is great. and i enjoy how you indicate that you are writing about issues that you find important on all scales, not just local, and not just national. it is abotu what is important to YOU, and that is why YOU are writing about it in YOUR blog!! now thats what we call, ‘real talk’!!

  4. Brooklyn Teaching Fellow, Thanks for your comment. I couldn’t have said it better.

    Having been born at Brooklyn Hospital and lived on Clinton Avenue until I was seven, I’m very interested in what you are doing as a teaching fellow.

    Whenever someone says, “Where are you from?” I still say, “Brooklyn.”

    My grandmother taught at PS 199 for 41 years. Wonder what she’d think about what’s going on now?

  5. Found your blog from a link off of Middle Web to somewhere to you. In my mere 10 years dealing with public ed. I find that it is the things furthest away from student achievement that cause local non-educators great angst. Beautiful sunset. Thanks for the tip about the sitemeter.

  6. brooklyn is the place to be! im not from here, but it is slowing becoming part of my identity! i mean, how could it not! i live on clinton and myrtle- so im definitely in the neighborhood!

    wasn’t “joel’s” comments crazy on “miss teacha’s” blog?? you were dead on when you said they were condescending and basically out of order! thats how i got to your blog.. talk to you later, brooklyn..

  7. Forgot to say…”I know where you live!” LOL

    (I wasn’t allowed to go as far as Myrtle, but I heard my parents talk about it a lot. Couldn’t have been too far. We were at the apartments at 361 Clinton Avenue, built just after WWII.)

  8. Just wanted to drop in and let you know that your comment on Confessions from the Couch was great! I couldn’t agree more.

    Great post, it must be strange to have locals read your blog.

  9. Great posts! I think it would be strange to know that locals were reading, but I think it’s awesome that you are standing behind everything you say.

  10. Thanks for being here FT and Stephanie.

    Life would be dull if we all chose to hide our thoughts and feelings that are different from those of others.

    This is not a blog designed for local readers, although I welcome their presence. If locals read it for what it is — a meta-dialog — that’s great. If they think they’re some kind of spy operatives sleuthing the internet and edusphere, and making irrational statements that they expect to see in print on my blog, then they make my rear end ache. 🙂

    I sometimes wonder if “taxpayers” who yammer about the equitable spending of “their” tax dollars realize that in suing the district rather than engaging in dialog, they force us to spend “their” tax dollars defending ourselves thereby creating a shortage of ‘their” tax dollars for things they want in the first place.

    Truth be known, that paradox cracks me up.

  11. I also would be easy to track if people want to. I have a site meter, but can’t always figure out who is coming from where. It can be a bit murky. Anyway, I read, and liked your comment over at Confessions. I have been a public high school teacher for 28 years, and it gets harder and harder. I am not back at school yet, so my posts have been relatively vent-free lately. (except that I have 1 17 year old high school senior and a 21 year old college student)

Leave a Reply

