Getting to Know You

Assistant Superintendent Kimberly Moritz, who writes G-Town Talks (upstate NY), a very cool and personal edublog, tagged me for the “8 Random Facts About Me” meme. From what I have picked up in blogging context during my short tenure in the edusphere, these exercises are meant to help the blogger connect and network, and maybe even have a little fun.

So, between wiki planning, outlining a back-to-school post on hitting the ground running with standards-based grading, and wondering what polar bears are up to while we stew about global warming, I thought it would be fun to play along.

If you get tagged and you’ve just been through this, please forgive me. I’m looking to tag folks who have yet to play some version of this both to get to know them better and avoid bugging recent players.

First, the Rules:

  1. Post these rules before you give your facts
  2. List 8 random facts about yourself
  3. At the end of your post, choose (tag) 8 people and list their names, linking to them
  4. Leave a comment on their blog, letting them know they’ve been tagged.

Here we go…

  1. I don’t watch TV. I realize programming has improved since the 50s, but commercial interruptions are annoying to the max, and I can’t stand to be on someone else’s schedule unless they’re paying me.
  2. I haven’t gotten a speeding ticket since 1982 mainly because my wife was sitting next to me when I got that one.
  3. I’m book poor. Aren’t you? There ought to be a Twelve Step program for bibliophiles.
  4. I love to (have to) read every day. A little fiction, a little non-fiction. Actually a lot of both.
  5. My favorite thing to do is spend time on the river with my family.
  6. I drive an old Ford pickup. After it’s fourth warrantied transmission and second warrantied engine, it ran well.
  7. I long for a new Tundra four-door (long bed comes out next year).
  8. My driving passion is improving instruction and classroom assessment for student achievement, and one of the last frontiers in classroom assessment — grading for learning, aka grading linked to standards, aka standards-based grading.

I’m taking a break to research who hasn’t played recently…

8 thoughts on “Getting to Know You

  1. Just one comment: You wanna know why polar bears are going extinct? Just look at that picture! With so much contact with humans, they’ve learned our lazy ways and they’ve become lazy; spending hours on a laptop, drinking bear and eating BBQ (slow-roasted) penguin.

  2. I wouldn’t feel right if I didn’t address a couple of your items:

    (1) Get a TiVo. They’re whole sales pitch is “TV on your time.” It will literally change your life.

    (7) Tundras are wonderful. I have the ’06 which was the last year before they changed and I wish I’d have waited… They parked mine next to one of the new ones last time I had scheduled maintenance and mine looked like a toy.

    Great list! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Scott, If I listen to your podcasts, when am I gonna have time for TiVo?

    Still, thanks for the suggestion. There is some stuff I’d like to watch!

  4. Thanks for the tag – my list is forthcoming! And I USED to be among those who don’t watch TV, until I got a DVR (TiVo). Scott’s right. It changes your life!

Leave a Reply

