A Grading Conversation

I’ll be off the grid for a couple of days, but was hoping to contribute something constructive prior to taking off.

Labels/categories/topics in a blog sidebar, although they may be a way to keep track of topical conversations, don’t go far enough. A search function also helps. (There’s probably an efficient Web 2.0 way to do it, like a topical aggregator, but it hasn’t touched my mind yet.) So this is an experiment, a “sticky” post. (I’ll figure a way to make it sticky!)

Eric, in Second Hand Thoughts, reinforced my desire to broaden and deepen the conversations on what the Exhausted Intern calls SBG or “standards-based grading,” aka, “grading for learning,” or “grading linked to standards.” (Eric has in mind an idea for focusing conversations that goes beyond what I’m hoping to do here.) Here goes…

So far, I’ve talked about SBG with the following folks who have “grading” listed on their topic sidebar…

The Science Goddess of What It’s Like On the Inside
The Exhausted Intern of Not Enough Hours

…and folks who don’t have “grading” listed as a topic, but have addressed the issue in posts or “comments” either on RepairKit or their own blog:

Miss Profe from Hardknock Teacher’s Life (See today’s knock-your-socks-off post.)
Miss A of Confessions from the Couch
The Midwest Teacher of Teach Me, I Dare You

This is also an open invitation to join the conversation.

If I left anyone out of this conversation, my sincere apology and please mention it in a comment to this post. I’ll cut and paste your link above.

My goal is to list, in one place, all of you with whom I exchange ideas about SBG. (If this is a dumb idea, or there’s a better way to do it, please tell me!)

10 thoughts on “A Grading Conversation

  1. Does setting up a wiki appeal to anyone? That may be a way for all of us who are interested in discussing SBG to have a forum for discussion as well as a place to post links.

    Just a thought.

    BTW: Thank you, Repairman, for your kind words, here, as well as on my own blog.

  2. Love the idea, and will be checking back to see if anyone else is interested in joining the conversation. 🙂

  3. MP, I’m just learning about wikis in Warlick’s book, Classroom Blogging, 2nd ed. (If I mention the book one more time on this blog, I’m gonna send him a bill!) If a wiki is more central and we can link it to our blogs, sounds like a plan.

    EI, I’ll be looking forward to talking. Hope we can bring some more folks into the conversation. People we haven’t met yet!

  4. A wiki is a perfect idea. I saw those a few months ago and didn’t realize until today just what they could be used for.

    Excellent forum to moderate and facilitate discussions on various issues, not just SBG.

    Give me till the middle of August and I can have one set up and we can go.

    However, I believe realistically, we might not see much discussion until mid semester – after everyone gets into the swing of things with the new year and such.

    Excellent idea miss profe!

  5. Thank you, Eric, for taking on the task of setting up a wiki. I tihnk it will be a good way for sharing ideas.
    And, I agree, repairman: I am learning more from blogging than I ever imagined, not to mention meeting many cool people like you.:)

  6. I like the idea of a wiki as well. My contributions to it may be sporadic, or may be in a flood. It will all depend on how busy I get. ;-D

  7. 1. elementaryteacher Says:
    August 15th, 2007 at 8:34 am

    RepairKit,

    I’m delighted to have found your great blog today through Eric’s Seconhand Thoughts. Didn’t I also see you commenting on Lizzy Apple’s blog (Music Teacher in the Philippines)? Your name looks familiar.

    I haven’t written yet on the topic of grading, but I know someone who HAS just written a great article on it, on “Betty’s Blog” at:
    http://teacherlingo.com/blogs/bettyb/archive/2007/08/11/holding-students-accountable.aspx

    It’s the post on “Holding Students Accountable.”

    Best regards,
    Eileen
    Dedicated Elementary Teacher Overseas
    elementaryteacher.wordpress.com

  8. Thanks for stopping by, Eileen.

    Re the article your pointed me to: Kind of hard to assess a child’s learning when there’s no evidence of it!

    Keep an eye on the Edubloggers’ wiki. Standards-based grading is the first topic we’re going to deal with. With the start of school, it’s going slow right now, but later today, I’m going to post my letter(s) to the editors of the W. Va. newspapers, and some newspaper forum posts from there as well.

Leave a Reply

