Theme by Elimination

To name this blog, I had to go through scores of iterations of names that related distantly to the theme I hope to embed in this blog. (Must be a hell of a lot of bloggers out there.)

I was fortunate enough to hit on one related to my theme of, not necessarily education reform, but education improvement, that was suggested by a fictional character I enjoy reading about — Repairman Jack, an invention of F. Paul Wilson. Jack, a non-descript guy who lives off the grid, fixes things for money or a future favor.

I live in the real world and offer ideas for free, or in hopes of hearing some critical feedback. Jack keeps score. I do not. Jack has style. Direct and to the point. Sometimes I’ll write that way, and sometimes I’ll meander.

While getting a grip on my own thinking, maybe you’ll get a grip on your’s as well. Maybe we can both make some repairs to public education as we move along.

One thought on “Theme by Elimination

  1. In case this blog is long-lived, I wanted a suitable name for it. Maybe my intuition was working harder for than I realized.

    From Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, 11th edition:

    Repair

    intransitive verb:
    1 a : to betake oneself : GO *repaired to the judge’s chambers* b : to come together : RALLY

    transitive verb
    1 a : to restore by replacing a part or putting together what is torn or broken : FIX *repair a shoe* b : to restore to a sound or healthy state : RENEW *repair his strength*
    2 : to make good : compensate for : REMEDY *repair a gap in my reading*

    I like the part about coming together — for a beer and some conversation, or here on the net.

Leave a Reply

