Recovering from Family Vacation

Early Morning on the Williamson River

Early Morning on the Williamson River

I’ve been home now for a couple of days after two weeks of outdoor fun with my wife Linda, and son Chris. Activities included biking, hiking, canoeing, kayaking, tennis, and, of course, four full days of fly fishing for the blue-ribbon pride of the Williamson, redband trout. We had a total blast! (And Linda learned from Chris how to cast a trout fly rod.)

As a bonus, when we returned to Maupin, Chris took Linda and me out on the Lower Deschutes to spey cast for summer steelhead. Linda got her first lesson in fly fishing with a two-handed, 12’7″ fly rod, and she loved it.

Even using 50-weight sun block, I got the deepest red-brown tan I’ve ever had. It was a very hot week, but fortunately, the humidity is relatively low in that part of the country.

I’ll probably have more to say on the adventures, but for now, I really wanted to say “hi!” to all you wonderful educators who are either back for the new year, or are about to jump aboard.

Have a terrific year, y’all! :)

5 thoughts on “Recovering from Family Vacation

  1. Welcome back to Washington County rain…

    Thanks, Tom!

    I went to the wedding of a good friend’s daughter yesterday. The ceremony and reception was indoor/outdoor at the north coast. You can imagine that we were indoors the whole time! A beautiful coastal day. :) –Hugh

  2. Two whole weeks. . . when I grow up, I wanna be JUST like YOU!

    But I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up! ;) –Hugh

  3. What a great vacation! I would love to spend 2 weeks camping and fishing. Welcome back.

    Thanks, Steph! There was an Arnold Palmer golf course at the resort, too, but I don’t play golf. Oh well, that just left more time for fishing! :) –Hugh

  4. You live a life of leisure, Repairman.

    BTW: Do you give lessons in fly fishing???

    LOL, Miss Profe! I did live a life of leisure for about two weeks there, but with the advent of the new school year, a whole raft (and a drift boat) full of cool stuff has been going on. As I said in another comment, I’ll report on it shortly.

    BTW: If you want to learn to fly fish, you need to meet up with my son Chris. He’s the master. I’m the disciple. However, I could probably teach you a lot of ways not to do it. :) –Hugh

Leave a Reply

